Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana

Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana is a national wide scheme which is launched by the government of India on August 2014 to provide financial assistance for the people who don’t have a bank account in India. This scheme will provide a way to access financial services like credit cards, bank accounts, insurance within budget. There are about 4 crores bank account which is opened under this scheme until September 2014.

Eligibility for Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana:

Any individual can open an account under this scheme. The account can be opened with zero balance and to a minimum balance is required to have a checkbook. A rupay debt  card is provided for the withdrawal of money

  • Any Indian below poverty is eligible
  • For the minors above 10 years are eligible for saving account in this scheme

Documents Required for Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana:

There are some documents which are mandatory to submit which are mentioned below

  • Passport size photos
  • Driving license
  • Aadhar card
  • PAN card details
  • Voter identification card


There are some official documents they need to be submitted as mentioned below

  • Identity card with the applicant photo which is issued by the
    • state/central government
  • A letter with applicant photograph issued by the gazetted officer
  • A valid address proof
  • Two passport size photos
  • Any valid identification proof issued by the government as PAN card or aadhar card
  • A person not having any valid documents can open a “small account” in banks. This is done by providing a photograph and his signature in the presence of the bank officials


There are some benefits that are provided by this scheme as described below

Insurance policy: this provides accident insurance of 1lakh with a life cover of 30000 rupees

Loan benefits: the account holder of this scheme is provided with overdraft facility only one person in the family is eligible per house.

Mobile banking: this also supports mobile banking as checking the account status and transfer of an amount from one account to other

No minimum balance: that is required to have a minimum balance in account they may have zero balance

Direct access to government schemes: being an account holder of this you can get direct access to the government schemes

Easy access to pension and insurance: being a member of this scheme there is easy access to pension and insurance


There are two types of banks that are under this scheme as private banks and public sector banks

Private Sector Banks:

  • Dhanalaxmi Bank Ltd.
  • YES Bank Ltd.
  • Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd.
  • Karnataka Bank Ltd.
  • IndusInd Bank Ltd.
  • Federal Bank Ltd.
  • HDFC Bank Ltd.
  • Axis Bank Ltd.
  • ICICI Bank Ltd.

Public Sector Banks:

  • Oriental Bank of Commerce (OBC)
  • Union Bank of India
  • Allahabad Bank
  • Dena Bank
  • Syndicate Bank
  • Punjab & Sind Bank
  • Vijaya Bank
  • Central Bank of India
  • Punjab National Bank (PNB)
  • Indian Bank
  • IDBI Bank
  • Corporation Bank
  • Canara Bank
  • Bank of India (BoI)
  • Bank of Maharashtra
  • Andhra Bank
  • Bank of Baroda (BoB)
  • State Bank of India (SBI)